Past Presidents – IPEF and IPCA

An idea was forged in the early 1980’s by a few progressive and innovative police chiefs intent on constructing an organization that represented the principles and viewpoints for law enforcement executives in Iowa.  The organization established a single united voice for police executives. The motto, “The Voice of Iowa Chiefs of Police” remains prominent in our brand.  The Iowa Police Executive Forum launched in 1983 and later the organization renamed itself in 2009 as the Iowa Police Chiefs Association to better represent its membership. The following list identifies our past presidents, all police chiefs, and their city of employment during their tenure. 

1983 - Present
Keith Chandler Bettendorf PD 1983-1984
Paul Hoffey Cedar Falls PD 1984-1986
Eugene Kleinow Mason City PD 1986-1988
J. Mark Diamond Oskaloosa PD 1988-1990
J. Mark Diamond Oskaloosa PD 1990-1992
R. J. Winkelhake Iowa City PD 1992-1994
Mark Prosser Storm Lake PD 1994-1996
Steve Neibur Osceola PD 1996-1998
Jeff Cayler Carroll PD 1998-2000
Paul Scranton Ankeny PD 2000-2002
Thomas Wardlow Newton PD 2002-2004
Michael Klappholz Cedar Rapids PD 2004-2006
Richard Ahlstrom Cedar Falls PD 2006-2008
Gene Ellis Dewitt PD 2008-2009
Michael Lashbrook Mason City PD 2009-2012
Jeremy Logan Oelwein PD 2012-2018
Rob Burdess Newton PD 2018-2022
Dennis McDaniel Johnston PD 2022 - Present